Academy Awards Acceptance Speeches | Margaret Herrick Library | Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences

Search Results

| | |

Watch the video

Year: 2001 (74th) Academy Awards

Category: Animated Feature Film

Film Title: Shrek

Winner: Aron Warner

Presenter: Nathan Lane

Date & Venue: March 24, 2002; Kodak Theatre

Thank you, members of the Academy, for inviting us to the party by creating this category to begin with. "Shrek" took five years and over 500 people to bring to life so I'm incredibly honored to be up here on behalf of the entire team. Special thanks go to John Williams who originally brought William Steig's book to DreamWorks, Laurie MacDonald who thought it might make a good animated movie, the amazing directors Andrew Adamson and Vicky Jenson. Our incredible cast: Mike Myers, Eddie Murphy, Cameron Diaz and John Lithgow. Executive producers Penney Finkelman Cox, Sandy Rabins and David Lipman. Terry Press and Jim Tharp at DreamWorks and the entire staff of animators and artists at PDI/DreamWorks. Finally I want to thank my fellow producer Jeffrey Katzenberg, who has a love for animation that borders on obsession and who is the real reason we're here tonight. Thank you.

© Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
[Note: All winners are present except where noted; NOT all winners may have spoken.]