Academy Awards Acceptance Speeches | Margaret Herrick Library | Academy of Motion Picture Arts & Sciences

Search Results

| | |

Watch the video

Year: 1994 (67th) Academy Awards

Category: Sound

Film Title: Speed

Winner: Gregg Landaker, Steve Maslow, Bob Beemer, David R. B. MacMillan

Presenter: Ellen Barkin

Date & Venue: March 27, 1995; Shrine Auditorium & Expo Center

I'd like to thank the Academy members for your vote of confidence. A special thanks to the film's biggest supporter, Mr. Ted Gagliano at 20th Century Fox. To a man that gave rush hour traffic a new meaning, our director Jan De Bont. Skywalker Sound, Universal Studios, for the use of their facilities. Stephen Flick, Weddington Productions, Gary and Greg Gerlich, Vision Tracks*. Our back-up team: Sergio Reyes, Tenny Sebastian, Gary Rogers and Ezra Dweck. And to my lovely wife of eighteen years, Catherine Landaker, thank you for the patience and understanding with all the long hours. I love you.

Thanks to the Academy for this award. Thank you very much.

Steve Bowerman, Kevin Patterson, and my wife Patty.

[*Spelling not confirmed.]

© Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences
[Note: All winners are present except where noted; NOT all winners may have spoken.]